Live Export Australia 

ClHEXopVAAAK3cY

 

“We must fight against the spirit of unconscious cruelty with which we treat the animals. Animals suffer as much as we do. True humanity does not allow us to impose such sufferings on them. It is our duty to make the whole world recognize it. Until we extend our circle of compassion to all living things, humanity will not find peace.” ― Albert Schweitzer 

I seldom blog about political issues, however I feel a moral obligation to share my musings on this topic. I’m frustrated, saddened and quite angry about this topic and I know that I’m not alone.

My beautiful home country of Australia must find its moral compass and ban the abhorrent practice of the exportation of live stock. I’ve been a strong advocate for the banning of this export for quite some time and over the past few years some absolutely shocking evidence has been exposed within the industry.  These animals are subjected to deplorable and cruel treatment both during their transit and at their international destinations. I won’t list specific incidences that have been documented as quite frankly I find it sickening. I will say that video evidence has shown that these animals are often injured during their voyage, are being killed by slow, cruel methods on arrival and some even tortured for ‘entertainment’ by some workers. (I sincerely hope karma is a real thing and that the worker’s time will come.)

I do appreciate that the government is in a very difficult position in addressing this issue.  It is an estimated $800 a million a year business that many rural communities depend on. Both political parties have pledged to tighten restrictions on live exporting and ‘improve’ the practice. And despite public outrage whenever new evidence emerges, both parties have moved quickly to assure the agricultural community of the continuance of this industry in the future. The Australian Government has made it clear that they have no intention of banning the live export of animals any time soon.

My question is, how will tighter restrictions ever make any meaningful difference to the welfare of these animals? Once these cattle and sheep leave our shores, how they are treated is a crapshoot. The only way to regulate the industry is for the animals to be slaughtered on Australian soil. My belief is that a shift from live export to boxed meat is more humane alternative that won’t negatively impact the economy nor the farmers. Am I an economist? Hell no. I almost failed Economics in high school. But surely this is something that they should be considering as a viable alternative?

If you are interested in finding out more please go here and sign the petition to end live export. http://www.banliveexport.com/

If you need more motivation, check out this ridiculously adorable lamb.

b5be2178dd59a1081852dde52d3d9573

 

2 thoughts on “Live Export Australia 

Leave a Reply

