Andy Puddicombe: All it takes is 10 mindful minutes…

quote-most-people-assume-that-meditation-is-all-about-stopping-thoughts-getting-rid-of-emotions-andy-puddicombe-53-56-10 (1)

I guess we all deal with stress in different ways. Some people will bury themselves in work, grateful for the distraction. Others will turn to their friends, their family, looking for support. Some people hit the bottle, start taking medication. My own way of dealing with it was to become a monk. So I quit my degree, I headed off to the Himalayas, I became a monk, and I started studying meditation.

People often ask me what I learned from that time. Well, obviously it changed things. Let’s face it, becoming a celibate monk is going to change a number of things. But it was more than that. It taught me — it gave me a greater appreciation, an understanding for the present moment. By that I mean not being lost in thought, not being distracted, not being overwhelmed by difficult emotions, but instead learning how to be in the here and now, how to be mindful, how to be present.

I think the present moment is so underrated. It sounds so ordinary, and yet we spend so little time in the present moment that it’s anything but ordinary. There was a research paper that came out of Harvard, just recently, that said on average, our minds are lost in thought almost 47 percent of the time. 47 percent. At the same time, this sort of constant mind-wandering is also a direct cause of unhappiness. Now we’re not here for that long anyway, but to spend almost half of our life lost in thought and potentially quite unhappy, I don’t know, it just kind of seems tragic, actually, especially when there’s something we can do about it, when there’s a positive, practical, achievable, scientifically proven technique which allows our mind to be more healthy, to be more mindful and less distracted.

And the beauty of it is that even though it need only take about 10 minutes a day, it impacts our entire life. But we need to know how to do it. We need an exercise. We need a framework to learn how to be more mindful. That’s essentially what meditation is. It’s familiarizing ourselves with the present moment.But we also need to know how to approach it in the right way to get the best from it. And that’s what these are for, in case you’ve been wondering, because most people assume that meditation is all about stopping thoughts, getting rid of emotions, somehow controlling the mind, but actually it’s quite different from that. It’s more about stepping back, sort of seeing the thought clearly, witnessing it coming and going, emotions coming and going without judgment, but with a relaxed, focused mind.”

Andy Puddicombe

2 thoughts on “Andy Puddicombe: All it takes is 10 mindful minutes…

  1. I’m new to meditation. New as in the last 7-8 months. Meditating in the morning before I even rise from the bed and at night before I go to sleep has radically changed my life. I stand in stark contrast to the anxiety-ridden person I was those 7-8 months ago, to the person I have been my entire life. Of course I have incorporated other things into my life that have helped, such as counseling and morning pages, but I can’t even imagine turning away from meditation.

    • That’s so awesome Jeffrey! Impressive level of commitment too. Out of pure curiosity, what type of meditation do you do or do you mix it up? Not that it makes any difference, being present is being present.

Leave a Reply

